skip to main content

NCHAM: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Utah State University

"Outsourcing" Newborn Hearing Screening: Questions and Considerations

a baby getting a hearing screening

Presented by: Randi Winston, NCHAM, The EAR Foundation of Arizona, The Arizona Department of Health Service and Jackson Roush, University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill

When: This webinar was presented on May 14, 2015 at 1:30 pm–2:30 pm ET/ 12:30 pm–1:30 pm CT/ 11:30 am–12:30 pm MT/ 10:30 am–11:30 am PT

Description of Webinar Content

In recent years, many hospitals have elected to outsource their newborn hearing screening services through contractual relationships with non-hospital personnel. Some of the contractual models are designed to provide these services at no charge to the institution. Hospital administrators are attracted to this model because it relieves them of burdens associated with training, screening, maintenance of equipment, reporting and follow-up. But there are many important issues that need to be considered, some related to choice of hearing technology, some related to protocols and procedures, and others related to billing, financial arrangements, and communication with families. This presentation will examine current models for contracted hearing screening services followed by a review of key questions and considerations. Specifically, we will examine inpatient versus outpatient screening; management of high risk babies; data management; tracking and surveillance; compliance with hospital regulations and standards; communication with families and primary care providers; reporting of screening outcomes to the hospital and state EHDI program; coordination of follow-up with the state EHDI program. We will also discuss financial issues related to billing and collection under outsourcing models, and their potential impact on a family’s decision whether or not to have their baby screened. Attendees will be provided with a checklist that summarizes each of these important considerations.

  • Webinar Recording for "Outsourcing" Newborn Hearing Screening: Questions and Considerations
  • Powerpoint [PDF] for "Outsourcing" Newborn Hearing Screening: Questions and Considerations
  • Transcript [PDF] for "Outsourcing" Newborn Hearing Screening: Questions and Considerations